April 10, 2017

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John Culberson Chairman Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Nita Lowey Ranking Member House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jose Serrano Ranking Member Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Frelinghuysen, Ranking Member Lowey, Chairman Culberson and Ranking Member Serrano:

We are writing to express our strong support for the appropriations request recently submitted by House Members (attached) for the Secure Our Schools program administered by the Department of Justice.

The past few years have sadly witnessed an increase in violent events at our nation's schools. Despite Sandy Hook and other recent tragedies, we are very concerned that federal grant assistance specifically for security measures – an element crucial to ensuring student safety – has remained unavailable since fiscal year 2011.

Local communities and school officials know what training and resources they need to keep their students safe. However, for many schools, improvements to physical security and emergency response capabilities are simply out of reach due to initial cost. When funded from FY2002-2011, the Secure Our Schools program played a vital role in filling gaps where state and local funding sources are unavailable despite urgent needs.

As you develop the Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations bill for FY2018, we urge you to restore \$15 million in grant assistance through the Secure Our Schools program, which has provided thousands of school districts, local governments and law enforcement agencies matching grants to implement effective security measures and emergency response procedures.

Our associations and their members look forward to working with you and your colleagues to improve safety and security at our nation's schools.

Sincerely,

County Executives Association (CEA)
Door Security + Safety Professionals (DHI)
Electronic Security Association (ESA)
National School Boards Association (NSBA)
National Systems Contractors Association (NSCA)
Partner Alliance for Safer Schools (PASS)
Secure Schools Alliance (SSA)
Security Industry Association (SIA)

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 4, 2017

The Honorable John Culberson Chairman Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice Science and Related Agencies H-310, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable José Serrano
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice
Science and Related Agencies
1016 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Culberson and Ranking Member Serrano:

We write to urge your Committee to include \$15 million in funding to pay for school security technology through the Secure Our Schools program in the fiscal year (FY) 2018 appropriations process.

School safety is fundamental to student success. Unfortunately, according to the Centers for Disease Control, in 2015 one in twenty students reported that they avoided school because they felt unsafe and one in twenty-five reported carrying a weapon to school. School officials are seeking to enhance safety and security measures because of the increasing threat of violence, but tight budget constraints do not provide the capacity to include much-needed improvements to campus security and emergency response capabilities.

From FY 2002-2011, Secure Our Schools provided thousands of competitively awarded match grants for security technology, emergency communications, and emergency preparedness training for education and law enforcement personnel. This type of assistance is needed now more than ever with security threats to schools on the rise. Therefore we urge you to restore \$15 million in funding specifically for school security technology through the Secure Our Schools program, administered by the Department of Justice.

Thank you for your leadership and for considering the importance of this request for the safety of our children.

Sincerely,

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Mike Coffman

Member of Congress

Susan Brooks
Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.
Member of Congress

Peter DeFazio
Member of Congress

Stzan De Bene Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Le Member of Congress

Tim Walz Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Raul Raiz Member of Congress

Denny Heak Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress