George R. Lippert Memorial Award

Lippert Award Winner 2018

Recognizing Leadership Among SIA Volunteers

About the George R. Lippert Memorial Award

The George R. Lippert Memorial Award, founded in 1989, is named in honor of George R. Lippert, who dedicated more than 20 years of his life to the security industry and SIA. When evaluating candidates nominated for the award, the SIA Lippert Award Committee considers their long-term service to SIA and the security industry, the impact of their efforts on behalf of SIA and the industry, and their integrity, leadership, and diplomacy as demonstrated in industry dealings. The Lippert Memorial Award is presented at SIA Honors Night.

  • Nominee Information

  • Nominating Contact Information

    Please include your information as the nominating contact.

2018 George R. Lippert Memorial Award Recipient: Pat Comunale

2018 Lippert Award winner Pat Comunale – a retired security industry veteran and former member of the SIA Board of Directors – is the former CEO and president for Tri-Ed Distribution, an Anixter company. He has over 25 years of extensive experience in the security industry and has held senior-level leadership roles in both manufacturing and distribution.The award will be presented to Comunale during SIA Honors Night on Wednesday, Nov. 14, in New York City. [See official press release.]

In 2005, Comunale was part of the management team that acquired Tri-Ed from Tyco. Over the next five years, under Mr. Comunale’s successful leadership as chief operating officer (COO), Tri-Ed experienced double-digit growth, acquired multiple regional distributors and opened over 20 new locations. Tri-Ed merged with Northern Video Systems in 2010, and Comunale took on the role of president and COO. He was named Tri-Ed’s president and CEO in 2012. In 2015, he was inducted into Security Sales & Integration’s Industry Hall of Fame.

Previous Lippert Memorial Award Winners

  • 2017: John Stroia
  • 2016: Fredrik Nilsson
  • 2015: Frank De Fina
  • 2014: Gordon Hope
  • 2013: Ray Dean
  • 2012: Bill Bozeman
  • 2011: Steve Roth
  • 2010: Leo Guthart
  • 2009: Alan Forman
  • 2008: Dean Russo
  • 2007: George Fletcher
  • 2006: Allen Fritts
  • 2005: David Avritt
  • 2004: Marc Mineau
  • 2003: Ken Boyda
  • 2002: Joe Hurst
  • 2001: Bill Moody
  • 2000: Bob Cook
  • 1999: Les Gold
  • 1998: Charles Darsch
  • 1997: Craig Leiser
  • 1996: Susan Whitehurst
  • 1995: Ted Nesse
  • 1994: Albert Janigian
  • 1993: Ron Spiller
  • 1992: Lou Fiore
  • 1991: Sandra Jones
  • 1990: Kit Vail
  • 1989: George Lippert (posthumously)
Back to Top