SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award

Recognizing Individuals for Leadership of a SIA Committee

About the SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award

The SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award is presented to the individual who, in his or her leadership of an SIA committee, has demonstrated excellence in leading SIA committees and advancing member objectives. The Committee Chair of the Year Award is presented at The Advance, SIA's annual membership meeting held during ISC West.

SIA 2023 Committee Chair of the Year: Lee Odess, CEO, Access Control Executive Brief2023 SIA Committee Chair of the Year: Lee Odess

SIA has named Lee Odess, CEO of Access Control Executive Brief, as the 2023 recipient of the SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award. In 2022, Odess was instrumental in launching SIA’s Proptech Advisory Board – which is designed to foster engagement between the proptech community and the global security industry through partnerships, education and thought leadership – and he serves as the group’s chair.

Under Odess’ leadership, the SIA Proptech Advisory Board has held a variety of in-person and virtual meetings since its launch in 2022. Additionally, Odess has authored and collaborated on several proptech-related articles for SIA, helped produce a series of practitioner conversations with influential leaders in commercial real estate and led the efforts around SIA’s Proptech Report, a highly regarded resource produced in partnership with CREtech that evaluates proptech trends, market size and buying interests affiliated with security solutions in commercial real estate, including office environments and multifamily housing. Additionally, he assisted in kickstarting the Proptech Advisory Board Speaker Series and in developing the “Definition of Proptech” video. He is a prolific thought leader on proptech and has spoken at major SIA and industry events, including ISC West and AcceleRISE.

[View the full announcement.]

Previous Committee Chairs of Year

  • 2022: Alice DiSanto
  • 2021: Matt Feenan
  • 2020: Kathleen Carroll
  • 2019: Chris Grniet
  • 2018: James Marcella
  • 2017: John Steele
  • 2016: Peter Michael
  • 2015: Richard Brent
  • 2013: John Hunepohl
  • 2012: Frank Gastonyi