Women in Biometrics Awards

Recognizing Innovative Women in the Biometrics Technology Market

About the Women in Biometrics Awards

The SIA Women in Biometrics Awards are a globally recognized program presented by SIA with support from sponsors IDEMIA and Paravision and organizational and media supporters AVISIANBiometric UpdateFindBiometrics and SIA’s Identity & Biometric Technology Advisory Board and Women in Security Forum. The Women in Biometrics Awards are dedicated to recognizing innovative women creating a more secure world by guiding the biometrics technology market.

More information, including details on submitting nominations, criteria and the judging process, is available at womeninbiometrics.com.

Visit Site

SIA 2022 Women in Biometrics Award Winners: Gena Alexa, CEO and Founder, Dignari; Amanda Conley, Chief, Human Capital Branch, Office of Biometric Identity Management, U.S. Department of Homeland Security; Delia McGarry, Senior Director, U.S. Department of State, IDEMIA National Security Solutions; Diane Stephens, Biometric Standards Coordinator, National Institute of Standards and Technology; Bobby Varma, Co-Founder and CEO, Princeton Identity

2022 SIA Women in Biometrics Award Winners

  • Gena Alexa, CEO and founder, Dignari
  • Amanda Conley, chief, Human Capital Branch, Office of Biometric Management (OBIM), U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
  • Delia McGarry, senior director, U.S. Department of State, IDEMIA National Security Solutions
  • Diane Stephens, biometric standards coordinator, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Bobby Varma, co-founder and CEO, Princeton Identity

[View the official press release.]

Previous Winners


  • Marta García Gomar, IDENTY Touchless ID
  • Amy Turluck, director, Biometrics Operations Directorate, U.S. Department of Defense


  • Jeni Best (U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP), DHS
  • Anne May (OBIM, DHS)
  • Mei Ngan (NIST)
  • Lauren Reed (IDEMIA National Security Solutions)
  • Annet Steenbergen (Aruba Happy Flow Project)


  • Debra Marcopulos (OBIM, DHS)
  • Dana Michalski (Defence Science and Technology Group, Government of Australia)
  • Nicole Spaun (IDEMIA National Security Solutions)
  • Sherry Stein (SITA)


  • Kelly Gallagher (NEC Corporation of America)
  • Lisa MacDonald (OBIM, DHS)
  • Colleen Manaher (CBP, DHS)
  • Lora Sims (Ideal Innovations, Inc.)
  • Anne Wang (Gemalto Cogent)


  • Kimberly Del Greco (Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI))
  • Isabelle Moeller (Biometrics Institute)
  • Liane Moriyama (Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center)
  • Stephanie Schuckers (Clarkson University)
  • Frances Zelazny (BioCatch)


  • JoAnn Buscaglia (FBI Laboratory)
  • Tovah LaDier (IBIA)
  • Elham Tobassi (NIST)
  • Teresa Wu (MorphoTrak)


  • Janice Kephart
  • Kimberly Mills
  • Celeste Thomasson
  • Cathy Tilton
  • Patricia Wolfhope