SIA Insightful Practitioner Award

Recognizing Excellence in Promoting the Implementation of Innovative Security Solutions

About the Insightful Practitioner Award

The Insightful Practitioner Award is presented to a security practitioner who demonstrates leadership and excellence in promoting the implementation of innovative security solutions through education, advocacy and teamwork with the security industry and other stakeholders. The SIA Insightful Practitioner Award is presented at SIA Honors Night. Nominations information is accepted annually August and September.

2021 SIA Insightful Practitioner Award Recipient: Bonnie Michelman

SIA has named Bonnie Michelman, executive director of police, security and outside services at Massachusetts General Hospital (Mass General) and for Mass General Brigham Corporation, as the 2021 recipient of the SIA Insightful Practitioner Award. Michelman has 30+ years of corporate security leadership experience, and in addition to her roles with Mass General and Mass General Brigham Corporation, she serves as president of the board of International Association for Healthcare Security & Safety. She is on the Regional Board of Directors for the Anti-Defamation League. She also serves on the advisory council for Hostage US.

Under Michelman’s direction, Mass General won the Lindberg Bell Award for the nation’s finest health care security program in 1999, 2007 and 2018. Michelman was appointed in 2010 by Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano to the Homeland Security Advisory Council, holding that position until 2015, and chaired the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Faith-Based Security Advisory Committee. She has also been an advocate for increasing diversity within the security industry.

[See the full announcement.]

Previous Insightful Practitioner Award Winners

  • 2020: Jack Hanagriff
  • 2019: George W. Anderson
  • 2018: Guy M. Grace, Jr.
  • 2017: Dave McGowan
  • 2016: Dr. Lou Marciani
  • 2015: Ray O’Hara
  • 2014: Evelyn Meserve