Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award

Recognizing SIA Volunteers for Expanding SIA’s programs and Services

About the Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award

The Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award is named in honor of Sandra Jones, principal of Sandra Jones and Company, a prolific SIA volunteer and co-founder of the executive conference Securing New Ground. The award is presented on an annual basis to an SIA volunteer who has made tireless efforts to expand SIA's programs and services. The Sandy Jones Award is presented at The Advance, SIA’s annual membership meeting, during ISC West.

SIA Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award: Jim Black, senior director, security architect, Microsoft; Ryan Kaltenbaugh, senior vicep resident, sales, North America, LenelS2

2023 Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients: Jim Black and Ryan Kaltenbaugh

SIA has named Jim Black and Ryan Kaltenbaugh as the 2023 recipients of the Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award.

A dedicated member of SIA, Jim Black has served in a wide variety of volunteer capacities over the past 20 years, including most recently as vice chair of SIA’s Identity and Biometric Technology Advisory Board, serving on SIA’s Women in Security Forum Scholarship Program subcommittee, and participating as a charter mentor in SIA’s Talent Inclusion Mentorship Education (TIME) program. He served as an integral member of SIA’s Certification Committee, leading efforts for the group, for seven years. On March 29, he will be further advocating for diverse and inclusive mentoring as a panelist in SIA’s ISC West education session Unlocking the Power of Diverse & Inclusive Mentoring.

Kaltenbaugh is an active member of SIA and member of the SIA Board of Directors who serves as chair of SIA’s Member Engagement and Experience Committee, which creates and evaluates initiatives that increase member participation within SIA and guides the development of member engagement strategies. He developed the concept for National Security Technician Day, an initiative led by the Foundation for Advancing Security Talent and held annually on Jan. 23 to honor security technicians across the United States. He lends his federal security expertise to SIA as former chair of SIA’s Identity Working Group, a member of SIA’s Government Relations Committee and a regular speaker at events like SIA GovSummit. He is a strong supporter of SIA programs and a regular sponsor of association events.

[View the full announcement.]

Previous Sandy Jones Award Winners

  • 2022: Sean A. Ahrens and Elizabeth Lowe
  • 2021: Tracy Larson
  • 2020: Janet Fenner
  • 2019: Mark McCourt
  • 2018: Ted Curtin and Joel Schwartz
  • 2017: Doug Haines
  • 2016: John Mack
  • 2015: Frank De Fina, Jim Crumbley, Frank Gasztonyi and Rodger Schmidt
  • 2013: Steve Van Till
  • 2012: Scott Schafer